Just Juices and Berries

Standard

olive-oil

I am not writing this to bash ‘product junkies’. I  like trying out new things and for some people that could be hair care products. However, I am noticing a lot more emphasis being placed on products, in the natural hair community. On forums, blogs, YouTube and social networking sites, I am seeing different women post questions about what products to use to address certain hair ‘problems’.  For example: what product can I use to stretch out my hair? What product can I use to soften my hair? What product can I use to make my hair grow? I am thinking about going natural, what products should I be using?

I can’t help but believe that we are reverting back to the old mindset, that we simply need a magical product to make our hair perfect! This is opposed to simply learning how to manage our hair properly. Isn’t that how relaxers were presented to the black community, for decades? Relaxers, perms and texturizers were supposed to be magical products that would ‘fix’ our hair and take away all our hair problems.

This quick fix mindset is based on an unwillingness to do research and educate ourselves about our hair. It is quite concerning to see some women obsessing about products before they have even gone natural. This makes going natural a lot harder than it needs to be and I can imagine why some women find the concept quite daunting. When I first went natural I was living in the UK and most of the products mentioned on the internet were only available in the US. So I didn’t have access to a great number of products. To be honest the last thing I was thinking about was products because 99% of products in my local beauty supply contained harmful ingredients. I had learned about them through doing my research. I came to realize that most of the products I used when my hair was relaxed had sulphates, petroleum, silicones, alcohol, harsh perfumes parabens and other chemicals that I couldn’t even pronounce. It’s funny to see that those same black hair companies are now jumping on the natural bandwagon and releasing natural product ranges, to cater to the natural hair community. It’s good to see that they are taking notice and shows that we have a powerful voice.

productjunkie

However, due to the lack of quality hair care products at the time, I was only concerned about the benefits of natural ingredients. I learned about Shea butter, the benefits of plain water, extra virgin olive oil, coconut oil and aloe vera juice. This made my life a lot simpler and I wasn’t bombarded with the many products that are on the market today. I was able to focus on learning to manage my hair, and to this day I personally haven’t found a product that holds my twist outs as well as pure Shea butter does.  I haven’t found a product that moisturizes my hair as well as water does and I stretch my hair out by simply braiding or twisting it. A product by itself will not make your hair grow any faster or longer. Protective styling, moisturizing and being gentle with your hair will help you to retain length.

shea-butter-and-nuts

Of course I enjoy trying out new products from time to time and learning about different products can be part of your natural hair journey. However, when all else fails, I go back to my simple usage of water for moisturizing, oil for sealing in the moisture and my Shea butter for styling.  I’m not against products and I’m happy to see many black owned companies becoming successful. However, there is no product out there that will magically ‘fix’ your hair. You simply need to learn how to manage it properly. Some of us need to learn how to manage our hair with simple ‘juices and berries’ instead of looking for a magical product that simply doesn’t exist. We also need to consider being healthy overall; diet, exercise and water consumption can also affect our hair. Products can only enhance your hair, not make it into something it is not. ALL  hair  textures are beautiful, with or without the use of different products. Keep it simple when going natural and learn the important basics that will benefit you well into the future.

What do you think? Is there an obsession with products? Share your thoughts and ideas below.

6 responses »

  1. Thanks for the comment :D. It’s interesting to hear how different people manage their hair. You have to do what works for you. Thanks for sharing that. I’m sure someone with a similar experience will find it helpful. Grapeseed oil is one of my favourite oils as well. I guess hair porosity is another factor to consider. Everyone’s hair absorts water differently.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed this post, it was very informative. However, I want to disagree with the paraphrase that water moisturizes the hair. I have a curl pattern that I believe is not on the chart ‘Z 99’!
    My reasoning: My hair folicle does not allow water to penetrate the shaft, which results in water beading on my head after shampooing. I use baking soda and honey to stretch the hair which allows folicle to open and absorb the water. Once I complete that treatment, I use an organic yogurt and grapeseed oil rinse to seal in the moisture. I favor grapeseed oil, its lighter and tends to aborbs better.

    Like

  3. LOVE THIS POST! This summarizes my sentiments exactly! I’d much rather use pure olive oil as my moisturizer than a product where olive oil is listed as the last ingredient of 40 others lol. 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks! Just be aware that products with silicones, mineral oil and petroleum are good at creating the illusion of moisture because they make the hair look shiny and feel silky. However, they actually coat the hair and block moisture from entering in. Hope that helps. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

